One of the best reasons to attend PBRC - talented national and international coach educators are committed to you getting the most out of your experience �



MaryBeth Mathews, Bowdoin College Head Coach, Varsity Women’s Rugby

Coach Mathews finished her 22nd year coaching rugby at Bowdoin College with an undefeated season, conference championship and trip to the National Championships. In addition to the nationally ranked Polar Bears, she’s coached the Maine U-23 and New England U-23 Select Sides and is a USA Rugby certified coach and referee. The former Eastern representative on USA Rugby’s College Management Council, she continues to volunteer for USA Rugby and is NESCRC Conference Commissioner and President of the American Collegiate Rugby Association.

Bowdoin Women’s Rugby consistently graduates top leaders in their academic field and turns out winning seasons on the pitch, including five New England Championships and bids to the regional (2006, 2007, 2011, 2012, 2013, 2014, 2015) and national championships (2007, 2012, 2013, 2014, 2015). Bowdoin College has produced numerous high school and college coaches, five All-Americans and two USA National team members. The team tours internationally every four years and most recently visited Spain and France.

Meet Some of the Staff

Farrah Scrum

  • Farrah Douglas – USA Scrum Coach, USAR Girls HS All-American Coach, former USA Eagles. Penn State & Gonzaga H.S (pictured above)
  • Jonathan ‘Griff’ Griffin – Head Coach of PBRC; Richmond (London); Wooden Spoon 7s; former Stanford Head Coach and Director of Rugby, MSc Ex Phys, ASCC, CSCS, FMS, CES, USAW
  • Peter Baggetta – USA Rugby Coach Educator, USAR Defensive Coach; Penn State Asst. Coach; Head Coach Gonzaga H.S. 2014  & 2015 H.S. National Champions
  • Karen “K.O.” Onufry – Middlebury College Head Coach, former USA National player
  • Anthony Purpura -  USAR National Team Player, Coach, Boston College, Harvard Asst. Coach
  • Craig Wilson – Yale Women’s RFC Head Coach, Australia
  • Laurie Bourdon, former USA Eagles, Beantown WRFC, Algonquin, MYRO All-Star coch
  • Kerri Heffernan, PhD - former USA Eagles, Brown University
  • Gary Devoe – USA Rugby Referee and Referee Trainer/Evaluator